How much is that doggy in the window?

Stray dog, Sofia BulgariaI was one bitten by a dog. I’d just arrived on Roatan island in Honduras, and I was merrily walking along the road with another backpacker in search of a hostel when a pack of dogs surrounded us, and one bit me on the leg. I went to the doctor, who told me that there was ‘no rabies on the island’ but I found it a bit hard to believe given that every person I told about the event said ‘oh, was it that red dog on the main street?’

10 years on I’m still not foaming at the mouth so perhaps they were right… but I’m left slightly scarred by the episode and unable to walk near a stray dog without wondering if it is going to attack me. Bearing this in mind, Sofia is perhaps not the best place for me to live, as there are reportedly around 10,000 stray dogs in the capital (they are EVERYWHERE), and random attacks are not unknown – in April an 87-year-old was mauled to death in the street by 25 dogs.

Wish me luck…

About sozofia

www.sozofia.wordpress.com/about-me
This entry was posted in Sofia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

