Good krak

krak shopI love espresso.

I love it for 2 reasons:

  • It’s delicious.
  • I like to pretend that the tiny cup is normal size, and I’m a giant.
So imagine my delight when I found out that you can buy espresso from tiny little kiosks at floor level all over Sofia!

These so-called ‘krak shops’ are my favourite thing about the city. My mother will be pleased to hear that they’re not named for what they sell; my Irish pals SS and Sherm will be disappointed to hear that they’re not named because of the banter from the shopkeepers; in fact, krak is the Bulgarian word for leg or foot – and all the shops are (in)conveniently placed at the level of your feet.

Krak Shoe Shop Sofia BulgariaMostly they just sell food, drinks and fags, although I did see today that one enterprising chap had set up a shoe repair business. I really hope he spends his day touting for business by shouting at people who walk past wearing worn shoes.

I’ve no idea how the phenomenon of krak shops has come about… there’s no reason why they couldn’t have the counter a wee bit higher up as the ‘shop window’ displaying the wares on sale is normally about 4-5 foot high. But the sight of people crouching on the ground to buy something makes me smile every time I see it. And for less than 20p I get to buy coffee and pretend I’m a giant buying normal sized coffee at a normal sized shop.

Fee Fi Fo Fum…

About sozofia

www.sozofia.wordpress.com/about-me
This entry was posted in *My Favourite Posts*, Eccentricity, Food & Drink, Sofia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good krak

  1. Leo Sograph says:

    you are no bulgarian nor do you speak bulgarian, right?- the name is klek-shop.

    http://sograph.deviantart.com/gallery/32146097

    • sozofia says:

      I’m not Bulgarian, but it’s not incorrect – this post started an argument between my Bulgarian friends about whether it was krak shop (‘foot shop’) or klek shop (‘squat shop’) – both work, really!

Leave a Reply

