Why timekeeping is impossible in Sofia

WatchToday I got very lost looking for a supermarket, where I was supposed to be meeting someone to walk to an English school for an interview. A man cycled up to me and said something incomprehensible in Bulgarian. Then we had a conversation as follows.

– Excuse me, do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– My name is Emmanuel.
– My name is Zoe. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Yes, I know. How long have you been in Bulgaria?
– Three days. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Yes, I know. How much longer will you be in Bulgaria?
– 6 weeks. Could you show me where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Yes, I will show you. You have a bike. Do you like sport?
– Yes, I like sport. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Yes, I know. Do you just like cycling or do you like other sports?
– Yes, I like other sports. I like running. Tomorrow I am running 10k. But do you actually know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Yes, yes, I know. Are you running 10k on your own?
– No, there are a hundred people doing it. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– I like sport. I like cycling, skiing, parachuting, waterskiing. Can you ski?
– Yes, I can ski. Can you show me where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Wow, you can ski! Do you want to go together? Vitosha is very close.
– There is no snow. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– But there will be snow soon. In the next six weeks. You are here for six weeks?
– Yes, I’m here for six weeks. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Yes, I know. If there is not snow within 6 weeks, you can stay longer.
– Yes, maybe. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– Do you want to go for a cycle ride together sometime?
– Yes, whatever. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is? I really am very late now. I’m meeting my friend.
– Does your friend work at the supermarket?
– No, he is an English teacher. I am an English teacher. Do you know where the Picadilly supermarket is?
– So he is just a colleague? Your heart is free? ;)
– I’M REALLY LATE! DO YOU KNOW WHERE THE PICADILLY SUPERMARKET IS?
– Yes, yes, I will show you. What is your telephone number?
– If I give it to you, will you tell me where the supermarket is?
– Yes, yes.
– Ok, it’s 08r9et28034. WHERE IS THE SUPERMARKET?
– You will call me sometime?
– YES. If it’s fricking backwards day, which I think it might be. DO YOU KNOW WHERE THE SUPERMARKET IS? I’M NOW VERY VERY VERY LATE
– Yes, I know it. I am phoning your number. Why is it not ringing?
– It’s on silent. I REALLY NEED TO GO TO THE SUPERMARKET NOW.
– Your phone is ringing?
– GAHHHH YES! LOOK! IT’S VIBRATING! WHERE IS THE SUPERMARKET????
– Oh, it’s just inside these doors here.

AAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Needless to say, I missed my meeting.

About sozofia

www.sozofia.wordpress.com/about-me
This entry was posted in *My Favourite Posts*, Eccentricity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why timekeeping is impossible in Sofia

  1. Sinan Awad says:

    Very funny story, was this conversation in English?
    I moved to Sofia 3 months ago, and have yet to have such an interesting conversation. :-D
    Maybe due to the fact I hadn’t had a chance to interact too much, except at work or buying stuff in Praktiker for the apartment.
    Didn’t read all your blog, but I enjoyed the bits I did.
    Keep updating about interesting stuff you discover in Sofia.
    Sinan.

    • sozofia says:

      Thanks for dropping by!

      No, the conversation was in pigeon Bulgarian… although I think I started shouting in English when I got frustrated :o)

      You’re lucky… If you are female, such conversations with old men are a regular occurrence in Sofia!

      Zo

  2. Phil says:

    I’ve just noticed a significant detail – the label on your watch says “INFINITE” ;-)

Leave a Reply

