Обичам – I love it…

Aside from the occasional person who announces to me that they love Justin Bieber, One Direction or, as was the case yesterday, Susan Boyle, one of the most noticeable things about being a twenty-something living in Bulgaria is the sort of music that my peers listen to.

That music is, in 95% of cases, rock. A music genre that I know VERY little about. But I really think I could get into it. Last week, I went along to a club called Mixtape 5 and stumbled across Wickeda, a Bulgarian rock band with a definite twist of ska/funk/something unique. They were incredible live – entertaining, funny and irresistably danceable.

When I got home, I immediately logged onto YouTube and started listening to them all over again.

Intrigued, I also looked up the lyrics to some of their songs, and was blown away by how much I’d missed by not knowing what they’d been singing about. In particular, their song Обичам sings about their love for their country – of everything from its ancient warriors to the shopska salad.

They sing:

ще ми се пръсне 
с толкова обич сърцето

Which, loosely translated (by Google) means something along the lines of

I’m going to burst 
With such a loving heart.”

If only I’d known at the time that I was bopping along to lyrics with such beauty…

About sozofia

www.sozofia.wordpress.com/about-me
This entry was posted in Sofia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Обичам – I love it…

  1. Will says:

    This is my kind of music! Though sadly I have missed these guys until now, they are definitely on my radar.

  2. Rhona says:

    i love it!

Leave a Reply

